Sunny Side Up – Robin’s Datsun pick-up

sunnysideup

Photography by Achmat Booley

Words By Achmat Booley & CJ Levendal

I just got to work, took a walk to the kitchen made me a steaming cup of coffee as the office is getting chillier than ever as Winter creeps up upon us, I make my way back to my desk switch on the pc and do the usual thing, which is check out Facebook. I normally scroll through the pages not giving much mind to what I see but there’s something that catches my eye… a Boolseye post – quite a rare sight, so after stumbling across this feature by one of my all time favourite photographers here on the SA scene i click on the link without thinking twice and as expected another awesome set of pictures by Achmat. later that day i sit at home and decide to have another look at it and thought to myself it needs more exposure so without making this a long story I hit up the man and asked if I could use it as a feature on our blog. He agreed and with that said I present to you Robin’s Datusn Pick-up. I’ll leave you in the obviously capable hands of Achmat as he gives a quick story of how he came across this little piece of magic.

IMG_0007 IMG_0135 IMG_0119

Over the past couple of months I have not had a lot of time to do much shoots, therefor things have been a bit quiet. Yet, during the busy days I think of what I can shoot if ever I do manage to have some free time. One of the first cars that came to mind was Robin’s Datsun B122 Sunny pick-up. The Shakotan styled sunny truck has everything that would make one think twice to whether it is local, from the super rare Toms Igeta wheels to the license plate. The fact that Robin kept it true to the Japanese retro theme, it truly is a nostalgic hero.

IMG_0093 IMG_0092 IMG_0083 IMG_0050 IMG_0046

One thought on “Sunny Side Up – Robin’s Datsun pick-up

  1. Do you know where I might be able to look @ a repair manual for my Datsun pick up 1973 5 speed. I need to see a diagram of the starter soliniod wirering and can’t seem to find anything that doesn’t involve purchasing a repair manual which budget constraints will not allow me to do. Ty for any help you can offer and Ty for you time.

Leave a Reply

